Baby Lips Revisited

$(KGrHqZ,!i4FD-jVu7gFBRKDRc,nE!~~60_35

Last year I reviewed Maybelline’s Baby Lips lip balms when they first came out. My verdict? Two thumbs down! I thought the colors were garish and the formula greasy and drying. But when I saw the limited edition colors for Spring 2013 at my local Ulta, I thought I’d give them another chance. I am, after all, a sucker for lip balm.

I bought shade #90, Yummy Plummy ($3.99). As the name suggests, it’s a light plum shade. I don’t know if Maybelline refomulated Baby Lips or if certain shades are better than others, but Yummy Plummy is miles away from the Pink Punch shade I bought last year, in terms of both look and feel. While Pink Punch was so heavy it looked like tinted zinc oxide, Yummy Plummy is a sheer and subtle tint – exactly what Baby Lips are supposed to be. And it feels moisturizing, not greasy. Nor does it make my lips feel dry.

I’m so surprised by how much I like Yummy Plummy that I have half a mind to go back to Ulta and purchase more of the limited edition Baby Lips. I’m still a little wary of the permanent collection, though.

Have you tried the new limited editions of Baby Lips?

Leave a Reply

