Super-cheap, Super-charged

It’s been less than one month since I started my Beautymint regimen, and already I’m not using the line anymore. I’ll write a review of that separately, but the gist of it is that the product sizes were so small that I used them sparingly, and I felt that I wasn’t getting enough benefits as I should have if I were more generous with them. Not to mention the price was a bit steep at $60 per month.

That being said, I’ve moved on to another facial regimen (I’m notoriously fickle when it comes to skin care). This regimen is simple, inexpensive, and I’m already seeing impressive results in less than a week.

While shopping at Trader Joe’s, I noticed they had a new face wash. The Nourish All-in-One Facial Cleanser ($5.99) was introduced last fall. I also purchased the Nourish Anti-Oxidant Moisture Lotion ($5.99), which just came out (so new is it, in fact, that the cashier commented as he was ringing it up that he hadn’t seen it before). The Nourish All-in-One Facial Cleanser is high in anti-oxidants, including alpha lipoic acid, green tea extract, and oat amino acids. It does double-duty as a face wash and an exfoliant, although I can’t find any recognizable exfoliants in the ingredient list. It also claims to be gentle, non-drying, and tear-free. It’s a thick, unscented gel. I use two pumps to get a good lather going. It removes makeup well, even mascara. As for its claims of being non-drying, I do need a moisturizer after it, but I don’t get that tight feeling that I get with stronger foaming cleansers. I can already see that my skin looks smoother and more even-toned. It exfoliates but in a gentle way. I’ve been using it with my Clarisonic, but I still see that my skin looks better than it has when I’ve used other cleansers with the Clarisonic, so I do think that the exfoliant in the cleanser (whatever it is) is doing its job.

20120424-223403.jpg

The Nourish Anti-Oxidant Moisture Lotion is also chock full of anti-oxidants. It’s oil-free, which could be why I found it to be a bit too light for my skin. When I use it after the cleanser my skin still feels a little tight, but then the tightness goes away. I’m waiting to see if Trader Joe’s comes out with an anti-oxidant cream for drier skins, but in the meantime I’ll continue to use it as I do like it (plus it’s super-cheap). I use two pumps to put more moisture back into my skin, and I preface it with four drops of Josie Maran Argan Oil, which is also high in anti-oxidants.

Both the Nourish All-in-One Facial Cleanser and the Nourish Anti-Oxidant Moisture Lotion were created by a dermatologist for Trader Joe’s. They’re not saying who it is, but they give us a couple of hints in their Fearless Flyer:

    This All-In-One Facial Cleanser is the result of a close collaboration between Trader Joe’s and a dermatologist. This doctor sells a similar cleanser, with fewer antioxidants than ours, for about four times our price. The major difference? Brand names and marketing. Obviously, we don’t spend a whole lot of money on marketing. And while we consider our brand name to be valuable, it’s not a “big brand” in the skin-care industry.

At the risk of “outing” the pricey line, my guess – and I am only guessing here – would be that the Trader Joe’s line is similar to Dr. Dennis Gross. He also markets an All-in-One Facial Cleanser ($32), but it’s advertised as having a built-in toner because it has witch hazel in it. Still, it’s a multi-purpose cleanser that’s high in anti-oxidants. Trader Joe’s face wash has less ingredients, but more anti-oxidants with the addition of green tea extract. Compare:

    Trader Joe’s All-in-One Facial Cleanser: Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Disodium PEG-12 Dimethicone Sulfosuccinate, Sodium Lauroyl Oat Amino Acids, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Panthenol (Vit. B5), Retinyl Palmitate (Vit. A), Cholecalciferol (Vit. D3), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vit. E), Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vit. C), Phytonadione (Vit. K), Alpha Lipoic Acid, Coenzyme Q-10, Green Tea (Camellia Sinensis) Extract, Copper Peptides, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid

    Dr. Dennis Gross All-in-One Facial Cleanser with Toner: Purified Water (Aqua Purificata), Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water, Caprylyl Glycol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phospholipids, Chlorella Pyrenoidosa Extract, Retinyl Palmitate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Laminaria Digitata Extract, Sodium Lauroyl Oat Amino Acids, Coco-Glucoside, Coconut Alcohol, Citric Acid, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Oil, Euterpe Oleracea Fruit Extract, Polyglyceryl-2 Dipolyhydroxystearate, Lauryl Glucoside, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, Polysorbate 60, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Annatto (CI 75120), Chlorophyllin-Copper Complex (CI 75810).

    Dr. Dennis Gross also makes a couple of anti-oxidant moisturizers, although both are geared more towards acne-prone skin. Trader Joe’s moisturizer is for all skin types, but like Dr. Dennis Gross’s, it’s oil-free and high in anti-oxidants. I have high hopes for my new Trader Joe’s skin care regimen. It’s streamlined, inexpensive, and so far, effective. The products are not tested on animals, and I don’t have to deal with pushy department-store cosmetics-counter salespeople. Plus I can sample tasty foods at Trader Joe’s while I shop! Quality skin care and munchies in one place? You can’t get better than that.

2 Comments on “Super-cheap, Super-charged”

  1. These products were formulated by Perricone.

  2. Thank youI I didn’t realize it was Dr. Perricone.


Leave a Reply

