Sunny Face

It’s a beautiful sunny day here in Boston. I made sure to apply sunblock to my face before I left the house. For over 20 years I had been using a certain brand of facial sunblock, but on my last trip to TJ Maxx I found a tube of Eight Hour® Cream Sun Defense for Face SPF 50 Sunscreen ($30) for $9.99. I instantly fell in love with it the first time I applied it to my face. It’s lightweight, almost runny in consistency, which means it absorbs into my skin quickly without the heavy feeling many sunblocks can leave behind (including the one I had been using for 20 years). It doesn’t leave a whitish cast to the face either. And even though it’s oil-free, it feels moisturizing. Elizabeth Arden claims it hydrates skin for up to 8 hours. It also smells pleasant. It has a citrusy fragrance without that chemical sunblock smell.

The SPF of 50 is also twice as high as that of my previous brand of facial sunblock. As a redhead who always burns in the sun, I’m all about finding the highest available SPF in a sun-protection product.

The Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour® Cream Sun Defense for Face SPF 50 Sunscreen received the Skin Cancer Foundation Seal of Approval. It was also awarded “Best Sunscreen for Dry Skin” in SHAPE Magazine’s Sun Smart Awards, in May 2009. It’s so lightweight, moisturizing, and pleasantly fragranced that I think I’ve found my sunblock for the next 20 years. Heck, I’d even pay full price for it.

Gorgeous redhead currently appearing in Elizabeth Arden's Prevage ad. I bet she burns easily too.

Leave a Reply

