Splurgeworthy: Josie Maran Tinted Moisturizer and Color Stick

I’ve really been digging Josie Maran products lately. After blogging about how her Argan Oil was worth the extra bucks after all, I’ve been slowly trying her other products. My newest obsession is her Tinted Moisturizer ($38). It contains argan oil and organic ingredients, and it has an SPF of 30. All without being tested on animals, and without toxins or parabens. And it’s made with love (it says so on the box!).

The Tinted Moisturizer is available in five shades, from very pale to very dark. I bought the second-lightest shade, Butter. It’s made for light skin tones, but next time I think I’ll buy the lightest shade, Cream. When choosing a foundation, I always waiver between the lightest and the second-lightest shade. Butter looks good, but I see a slight line of demarcation at my jawline when I first put it on. However, by the middle of the day when I do a makeup check, it looks completely natural. And I like that it provides an SPF of 30 – more than adequate protection against the sun’s harmful rays.

For a tinted moisturizer, the Josie Maran Tinted Moisturizer provides light to medium coverage. It hides a few small red spots that I currently have due to a minor eruption on my cheek. And it feels amazing on my skin, thanks to the moisturizing properties of argan oil. I also have Josie’s Matchmaker Foundation ($42), which provides more coverage, but for everyday wear, the Tinted Moisturizer has become my go-to makeup product. It’s the one essential item that I make sure to wear if I’m wearing nothing else. And if I do need a little something extra, I reach for the Josie Maran Argan Color Stick ($22) in Rosey, a “dusty rose.” It provides a subtle flush of color that looks really pretty and natural. I had been wearing the NARS The Multiple color stick in Orgasm, their much-hyped and most iconic shade. But Orgasm looks positively garish compared to Josie’s Rosey.

Josie Maran products are available at www.josiemarancosmetics.com, as well as at Sephora. She also sells them on QVC, where she’ll be making her next appearance tomorrow from 2:00 am-3:00 am and 11:00 am-12:00 pm.


The symbols that let you know Josie’s products are kind to animals and to people. My favorite is “Made with Love.”

Leave a Reply

