Simple Beauty

By now you’ve probably seen the commercial for Simple skin care. You know, the one that uses that catchy song by the Noisettes, “Wild Young Heart” (I can’t get that “La la la, la la la, la la la…” out of my head). Simple is the United Kingdom’s number one brand of skincare. Founded in 1960, it has been helping women and men in Britain take care of their sensitive skin issues for over 50 years. I first tried Simple on a trip to Britain many years ago. My first purchase state-side was the Vital Vitamin Night Cream. While surfing the web looking for more information on Simple products, I came across an article in Britain’s Daily Mail which reported that supermodel Jerry Hall uses the Simple face wash and cream. At 55, she still looks great. See for yourself:

Although Jerry Hall wasn’t specific about which cleanser and cream she used, I chose the ones that I thought would be best for drier or aging skin.

The Moisturizing Facial Wash ($6.99) is a cushiony gel cleanser. It does foam, but it’s a low-lathering foam. I have an aversion to foam cleansers because they can dry out my skin, but this one didn’t strip my skin or leave it feeling tight. And it has no fragrance. I’m surprised at how many products that claim to be for sensitive skin still contain added fragrance or dyes. Simple products contain no color or fragrance.

I also purchased the Replenishing Rich Moisturizer ($10.99). It contains Pro-Vitamin B to help restore skin, and glycerin, bisabolol and allantoin to moisturize and calm skin. For a lotion moisturizer it’s pretty rich. Simple also makes a Hydrating Light Moisturizer for those with combination or oilier skins. I use the Replenishing Rich Moisturizer in the morning, and the Vital Vitamin Night Cream in the evenings.

Every spring with the change in the weather and the impending balmier temperatures, I get in the mood to try a new skin care regimen. Call it spring cleaning for the face. I think Simple will be my new skin care regimen this spring. I’m already thinking about what I want to try next: the Cleansing Facial Wipes (which have been getting rave reviews compared to other brands of cleansing wipes) and the Smoothing Facial Scrub. The pleasant green and white packaging also puts me in a spring state of mind.

Simple skin care products are available at most supermarkets and drugstores, including Walmart, CVS, Walgreens, and Target.

Leave a Reply

