Splurgeworthy: Josie Maran

A couple of months ago I reviewed Josie Maran’s Argan Oil. I concluded that, while I really liked it, I couldn’t justify the $48 price tag for 1.7 ounces when there are other, less expensive brands of argan oil. I have to admit I was wrong.

After I ran out of my Josie Maran Argan Oil, I started to use the less expensive brand that I purchased. I thought all argan oil was alike, but it’s not. While I’m sure the benefits are the same, the quality of the oil can differ. It depends on which pressing it is. I’ve watched Josie selling her argan oil on QVC, talking about how hers is first-pressed argan oil. I thought this was just a marketing ploy until I used the cheaper brand. The cheaper brand has a nutty fragrance (argan is a nut) that Josie’s doesn’t have. Argan oil has been used in salads for years, but only recently as a beauty treatment. With the cheaper brand of argan oil, I feel like I’m putting salad oil on my face, even though it’s the cosmetic-grade oil. Josie’s argan oil is drier and absorbs more quickly into my skin than the cheaper brand. Suffice to say, Josie’s argan oil is worth the price. I’m sorry Josie. I was wrong.

Being so impressed with Josie’s argan oil, I purchased the Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker Serum Foundation ($42) (above). It’s a self-adjusting foundation that looks white in the bottle but changes to adjust to your skin tone upon contact. According to the company, Matchmaker foundation is

    “A serum foundation formulated with chameleon pigments, an innovative color-match technology that goes on white and instantly adjusts to match your unique and changing natural skin tone as it balances and nourishes the skin.

    This is the only foundation you’ll need year-round to provide age-defying undetectable coverage. The breakthrough serum foundation suspends over fine lines and wrinkles to smooth and correct visible signs of aging. The one-of-a-kind Organic Argan Oil infused formula strengthens and balances your skin while keeping oily areas shine-free, and dry spots naturally moisturized for totally flawless, younger looking skin.”

Matchmaker is available in three shades: fair/light, light/medium and medium/dark. I purchased fair/light. I was skeptical it would work until I tried it. It stays white on the skin until I start blending it in. Then it miraculously adjusts to my skin tone. It’s a true match, it provides medium coverage, and the color doesn’t turn on me. It contains argan oil to moisturize my skin while I’m wearing it. Another pricey product that I feel is worth the extra money. I only need one pump for my entire face. The first time I used it I put way too much on my face, and the coverage looked obvious. One pump more than adequately covers my face when I spread it out. With this foundation, less truly is more, so one $42 bottle should last a long time.

Like all Josie Maran products, Matchmaker is formulated without parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, petrochemicals, GMOs, and Triclosan. I’ll happily slash my budget for other beauty and skin care items in order to keep using Josie Maran’s Argan Oil and Matchmaker foundation.

Have you tried the Matchmaker foundation from Josie Maran? Does it work for you too?

2 Comments on “Splurgeworthy: Josie Maran”

  1. Love that u were skeptical, but was win over!!! I need to try this!!! Thx for the review!

  2. It really is worth the $$. I only use a few drops each time, so the bottle will last a while.


Leave a Reply

