Flying Onto the Shelves

I’ve been scouring my local drug stores for the past couple of weeks for the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter ($7.49). I feared it would be like Maybelline’s Baby Lips, where advanced press and commercials led to the product selling out almost as soon as it hit the shelves. When I first went to look for it and saw the empty Lip Butter displays, I feared they were also sold out, but it turns out that the stores had assembled the displays before the actual product came in. Earlier this week when I went back, the display had a scattering of Lip Butter. I scored one in Pink Truffle, one of the twenty shades available.

Lip Butter is a “buttery balm with beautiful shiny color to give you baby soft, healthy glowing lips. 94% of women felt lips were softer, smoother, and instantly hydrated.” Hmm, where did I hear that before? Oh yeah, the claims for Maybelline’s Baby Lips, and those claims didn’t hold true in my experience. But I believe the claims for Lip Butter. When I apply it to my lips it goes on smooth and it definitely feels hydrating. My lips feel softer when I wear it. The indgredients list for Lip Butter is also a mile long, just like the list for Baby Lips, and contains beeswax and petrolatum. But it also contains natural oils like jojoba and coconut, as well as shea butter, and in my opinion any product calling itself a “butter,” whether it be for the body or the lips, should contain butter. Revlon describes the coverage as “sheer to medium.” I was pleased to discover that the coverage is more on the medium end – almost like a full lipstick. Pink Truffle is a brownish-pink that looked a little too dark in the tube, but on my lips it’s a pretty medium-pink. It’s a great alternative to full lipstick for women such as myself who sometimes feel full lipstick is a little too dramatic for every day. It gives more color than a lip gloss, which is what I usually wear to work.

In the battle over this Spring’s new lip balms, Revlon’s Lip Butter beats Maybelline’s Baby Lips hands-down. And the packaging for Lip Butter, while not as “cool” as the packaging for Baby Lips, is more chic and sophisticated. The quilted pattern on the plastic case cover is evocative of classic beauty products from the Forties and Fifties that adorned the vanities that I like to imagine all women had back then.

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter is available at drugstores nationwide.

Revlon's Lip Butter ad with Emma Stone

Leave a Reply

