Axe Your Age

20120209-104121.jpg

Recently I did something that I never thought I would do – I bought Axe body spray. Now I know what you’re thinking: “What is she, a 14-year-old boy?” Like most women, I was mildly offended by the rude commercials for Axe for Men that bombarded the airwaves a few years ago, and slight annoyed by the suggestive larger-than-life ads in Boston’s T-Stations. But this was Anarchy For Her, Axe’s first body spray for women.

Anarchy For Her is a blend of apple, blackberry, and florals. I bought a four-ounce can (did I really buy fragrance in a can? *shudder*) that came with a free one-ounce can for $5.49. The label calls it a limited edition and describes it as “a unique all-over body spray with a quality fragrance to keep you smelling great all day or all night.” Quality fragrance? It’s as if even Axe themselves realized that they need to convince women to buy their product. Maybe it’s a limited edition because Axe doesn’t have faith in the product’s appeal to women. Axe even provided a graphic on the back of the can, in case any woman who buys it doesn’t know how to use it. Maybe 14-year-old boys need instructions on how to use body spray, but the ability to use it is inherent in women.

20120209-105553.jpg

As for the fragrance, it’s not as bad as I thought it would be, but it’s not quite a “quality” fragrance, only because it smells like the Pantene shampoo that I wash my hair with. I’ll stick with my trusty Jean Nate. Now that’s a quality fragrance, and more age-appropriate to be sure.

Leave a Reply

