Cocoa M’Buttah

With winter in full swing, I’ve been searching for skin care products that are rich enough to moisturize my face. This winter has been really windy and as I walk to work each day I can feel the wind whipping at my face. So I decided to throw caution to the wind (literally!), and do something I never thought I’d do: put body cream on my face.

Actually, Palmers Cocoa Butter Concentrated Cream ($2.49 for 2.1 oz.) is more of an all-purpose cream. At least that’s what I tell myself to justify putting it on my face. But I’m not the only one. I got the idea from Stylists Facetime feature. Each week they feature a different Girl in the Street and find out what beauty products she uses. This girl uses Palmers Concentrated Cream on her face. A lot of people do. Cocoa butter is renowned not only for helping to prevent stretchmarks, but also to help fade scars. Many people use it on their faces to fade acne scars and even out skin tone. Cocoa butter is also insanely moisturizing. So I’ve been using it on my face for the past week. My verdict? I love it. It smells delicious. Some people might not want to smell like a chocolate bar when they leave the house, but I don’t mind. For a rich cream such as this, it absorbs into my skin quickly. When I use it at night, I wake up with skin that still feels incredibly soft. Why use ridiculously expensive night creams when you can buy a tube of cocoa butter cream for under $3?

To round out my cocoa butter regimen, I’ve also been using the Cococare Complexion Bar ($1.99). The company’s motto is “The Yellow One” (I guess to distinguish themselves from Palmers, which has a better brand recognition) and the complexion bar lives up to its name. This yellow bar doesn’t smell quite as chocolately as the Palmer’s cream. The fragrance is more like chocolate mixed with perfume. I’m not crazy about it but I can live with it. I chose the Cococare soap over the Palmers Cocoa Butter Formula Soap ($3.59) because of the ingredients. The Cococare soap is detergent-free, and vegetarian. The Palmers soap’s first ingredient is Sodium Tallowate (animal fat). The Cococare soap also contains more cocoa butter than the Palmers soap. The Palmers soap lists glycerin before cocoa butter, whereas the Cococare lists cocoa butter before glycerin. For $1.59 less and a higher cocoa butter content, I went with the Cococare. It makes a nice lather, and doesn’t make my face feel too tight. I had stopped washing with soap, but since the Palmers Concentrated Cream is so rich, it compensates for the slight dryness the Cococare soap may cause.

I round out my regimen with some argan oil (after cleansing and before moisturizing), and my face takes on a rosy glow. For about the same price as a Grande Cinnamon Dolce Latte from Starbucks, I’ve got a daily regimen that guarantees glowing, moisturized skin.

And if you’re wondering what the title of this post means, it’s in reference to a running gag on Saturday Night Live a few years back. Horatio Sanz played Aaron Neville as a recurring character in a few skits. His Aaron Neville really loves cocoa butter.

Leave a Reply

