Color Tattoo

Every time I see a commercial for a new beauty product, I have to run out and buy it. Maybelline has been getting my attention lately with their commercials for two new products: Baby Lips, and Color Tattoo 24 Hour Cream Gel Shadow ($6.99) (I’ll review Baby Lips tomorrow).

The Color Tattoo eyeshadows were on sale at Walgreens, buy one, get one for 50% off. The colors run the gamut from electric blue and orange to neutral taupes and bronzes and everything in between. I bought “Audacious Asphalt,” a glittery pewter, and “Bad to the Bronze,” a metalic bronze. In texture they’re comparable to Benefit’s Creaseless Creams eyeshadow. I tried applying them with my Buxom Stay There Eyeshadow Brush, but found the coverage was not as smooth as it is when I apply them with my fingers (so save yourselves the money that you would have spent on an eyeshadow brush). When I wore “Audacious Asphalt” for the first time, to work no less, I was surprised to discover that the eyeshadow has glitter in it, in addition to being a solid metallic shade. The glitter isn’t overwhelming, and not really obvious, so I could live with it. I was more concerned with how the shadow held up over the course of the day. I have both the Benefit Creaseless Cream eyeshadows and the Buxom Stay There eyeshadows, and neither of them last all day without creasing.

Maybelline claims that Color Tattoo eyeshadows will last for 24 hours. I haven’t worn them for 24 hours, but I did wear them for about 12. Except for some creasing in the crease of my eyelid, where all eye shadows crease on me, the Color Tattoo eyeshadows held up very well. The color remained on my eyelid. When I tried to blend it a little more after it had set I found that it wouldn’t budge, so these shadows are tenacious. Color Tattoo shadows have held up better than any other cream eyeshadow that I’ve tried, and I didn’t use a primer with it. I’m building up the courage to try the “Pomegranate Punk” shade next.

2 Comments on “Color Tattoo”

  1. Nice review girlfriend! I just picked up one of these the other day, excited to try it!


Leave a Reply

