Celebrity Skin

Ever since Dallas star Victoria Principal launched her Principal Secret skin care line in 1991, celebrity skin care products have become a booming business in the infomercial industry. Other celebrities have followed Victoria Principal’s lead and have launched their own skin care lines, including Cindy Crawford, Heidi Klum, Jane Seymour, and Kim Kardashian. I admit it, I’m a sucker for these celebrity skin care lines. So when I saw the Nuance Salma Hayek line at CVS, I couldn’t leave the store without buying something.

Salma Hayek’s Nuance line offers a large and impressive selection of products, including skin care, hair care, body care, and makeup. Salma’s inspiration in creating Nuance was her grandmother, a cosmetologist who trained with Vichy in Paris. According to Salma,”(M)y products are designed to help every woman enhance the nuances that define her individual beauty.” The skin care line boasts six cleansers, five serums, and three moisturizers. I purchased the Chamomile Facial Cream Cleanser ($7.99). It contains oils of rice bran, passion fruit, and babassu. Of all the Nuance cleansers, I thought the cream cleanser would be the best choice for my dry skin, although I was a bit skeptical. I’ve tried other cream cleansers that turned out to be foaming cleansers in a cream base, but I was happy to discover that this cream cleanser lives up to its name. It is soap-free and does not lather at all. The directions state to apply it to a wet face and rinse off, but I like to apply it to dry skin and then add a little water before I remove it with a warm washcloth. This cleanser leaves my face feeling soft and moisturized. It’s rich and soothing, and it smells heavenly. And the simple black-and-white packaging is beautiful – almost in a department-store-chic kind of way.

I am so impressed with the Chamomile Facial Cream Cleanser that I am going to go back to CVS and purchase more of the Nuance line. Nuance is very reasonably priced, with no product costing more than $20. Nuance products are paraben-free. They are not tested on animals, but they are tested on Salma Hayek. All products met with her approval before becoming part of the Nuance line. Nuance Salma Hayek is sold exclusively at CVS. Hers is probably the only celebrity skin care line that you won’t have to worry about trying to cancel those informercial auto-delivery memberhips.

2 Comments on “Celebrity Skin”

  1. Thanks for including me in your blogroll! I appreciate it! I too love the Nuance line, did you know it’s BOGO at CVS right now? Well, it is at my local one at least. I picked up the eye makeup remover and walnut scrub!


Leave a Reply

