Shocking by Schiaparelli

Ad for Shocking, Christmas 1943

Four years ago I blogged about collecting vintage Schiaparelli perfume ads. These ads were as irreverent as Ela Schiaparelli herself, and were illustrated by Marcel Vertes. Though I have found many ads for Schiaparelli perfumes that were illustrated by Vertes, I had never seen holiday ad for any of her fragrances until I recently discovered this ad for Shocking (above), from Christmas 1943. It captures the same feelings of joy and merriment as Schiaparelli’s other ads, but is even merrier because it’s Christmas. Like some of the other ads I’ve shown this month, I love how this one shows the use of real candles on a Christmas tree.

Leave a Reply

