Liquid Gold

I’ve been hearing a lot of positive things about argan oil – how its miraculous moisturizing properties are great for skin, hair and nails. This current “it” ingredient of skincare is generating as much buzz as alpha hydroxy acid did in the early Nineties. Though it has been harvested for centuries, it first came to prominence in the beauty world through supermodel Josie Maran’s line of makeup and skin care. Her Argan Oil ($48 for 1.7 oz) is 100% cold pressed virgin and organic, and is harvested by a women’s cooperative in Morocco. But then, all argan oil is 100% cold pressed virgin and organic, and is harvested by a women’s cooperative in Morocco. The N.Y. Times calls argan oil “liquid gold,” and went to the region of Morocco that is the source of all argan oil produced in the world.

I recently purchased a bottle of Josie Maran’s argan oil. In the past I have tried making my own serums by mixing organic vegetable oils with essential oils. They did make a difference in my skin, particularly in reducing breakouts while moisturizing my skin. I truly love the feel of the argan oil on my skin. Unlike other vegetable oils that I’ve tried, such as grapeseed and avocado, the argan oil sinks into my skin very quickly. I can apply makeup almost immediately. My skin also feels incredibly soft. The only downside to Maran’s argan oil is the price. A 1.7 ounce bottle costs $48 at Sephora, and a 4 ounce bottle costs $96. But Maran is not the only retailer of pure argan oil. Amazon.com features many retailers of argan oil at a fraction of the price of Maran’s. And Mountain Rose Herbs, my source for my homemade serum ingredients, sells a 4-ounce bottle of argan oil for $17!

I guess my point here is that liquid gold shouldn’t cost as much as real gold. Since all argan oil comes from the same source, it is the same oil whether you pay $17 or $96 for it. I will use up my bottle of Josie Maran’s Argan Oil, which I estimate could take several months since I only need a few drops for each application. However, I’ve already ordered a four-ounce bottle of argan oil from Mountain Rose Herbs, just to have it on hand. I’ll be curious to compare the two side by side to see if they are exactly the same.

Leave a Reply

