Immaculate Complexion

Extra Virgin Minerals Compact Foundation ($25.00) is part of The Body Shop’s new line of mineral makeup (the Extra Virgin Minerals lines replaces their Nature’s Minerals). It’s a cream foundation in a compact that dries to a smooth finish. It’s made with pure minerals and cold-pressed extra virgin olive oil. It’s available in ten shades in both warm and cool skin tones, and it comes with its own foundation brush tucked away beneath the foundation pan inside the compact.

I’m a foundation-phobe, so I usually avoid full foundations in favor of tinted moisturizer, or going without it altogether. But I found this product to give a smooth finish that makes my complexion look great. The Body Shop calls it a “cream-to-powder finish.” It’s not quite powdery, but it’s not as dry as powder foundations, which I can’t use because they make me look pasty. I found that the shade I thought I would be, Rose Ivory, looked too pale on me when I applied it all over my face. I chose then next lightest cool shade, Rose Vanilla, which looked a little too dark in the pan. It also looked a little too dark when I first swiped in on my face, but after I blended it with the enclosed brush it dried to a lighter shade that matches my skin tone perfectly. So if you find yourself in The Body Shop trying the compact foundation, try two shades to see which one dries closer to your natural skin tone.

I like this foundation so much that I’ve been wearing it every day. I haven’t broken out from it. The powdery finish lasts a long time, and I don’t find my face turning into a shiny mess in the middle of the day. I was pleasantly surprised by the Extra Virgin Minerals Compact Foundation and I would definitely repurchase it.

Leave a Reply

