Have a Super New Year



Super is the new line of skincare from Dr. Nicholas Perricone. Aimed at women in their 20s and 30s, it’s a more reasonably priced skin care range than the Dr.’s original product line, Perricone MD, but contains the same powerful antioxidants as the Perricone MD products. “Infused with phytonutrients derived from some of the most powerful superfoods and formulated with advanced patented sciences, SUPER allows your skin to indulge in nature’s most nutritional bounty.”


The SUPER line of skincare products debuted at Sephora in November. On January 13, this Skin Nutrition Lunchbox hit the shelves. It’s a clever way to make the point that it’s just as important to feed your skin as it is to feed your body. The Skin Nutrition Lunchbox is a $110 value for $65. The products are full-sized, and you get the three basic components of a good skincare regimen: the Super Face and Eye Cleanser with Acai ($30), the Detox Elixir with Watercress ($30), and the Hyper Hydrator with Coconut Water ($40). Even though I’m, ahem, beyond the age group that the Super line is targeted for (don’t ask!), I couldn’t resist the adorable lunchbox and the cheery, funky, modern packaging of the bottles and jars. So I took the plunge.


The Super Face and Eye Cleanser with Acai is a lotion cleanser. I wasn’t sure if I should apply it to a wet or dry face, so I tried both. I like it better when I apply it to wet skin, as I found if I applied it to dry skin, my skin felt tight after I rinsed it off. It doesn’t lather, and it smells like the grape Now & Laters that I used to eat as a kid. Although the name of this cleanser is “Face and Eye Cleanser,” it doesn’t fully remove mascara, and I don’t even use waterproof mascara. Thus I find the name somewhat misleading. But it’s a nice cleanser that doesn’t dry out my skin.


The Detox Elixir with Watercress is a spray-on toner. It smells like, well, watercress. I spray it on my face and pat it dry before applying moisturizer. I’m not really a big toner fan, so although it’s pleasant to use, I’m not convinced it’s really necessary.


The Hyper Hydrator with Coconut Water doesn’t really live up to its name. Coconut water is the new “big thing” in skincare these days, and it gives the face cream a delicious fragrance, but I found it wasn’t as moisturizing as I needed. I know it’s aimed at younger skin, but even young women with dry skin might need more moisture. It might be adequate in the warmer months, but with the single-digit temperatures and weekly snowstorms the Boston area has been having lately, it doesn’t provide quite enough to protect my skin.


Overall, the Super line is fun to use, and I can see it appealing to young women (the packaging) as well as older women (the price points). But it might be more effective for women with normal/combination/oily skin than it would be for drier skin types. The Super by Perricone range consists of thirteen products in all, for face and body. Prices range between $20 and $50 for the single items. It is available exclusively at Sephora.

Leave a Reply

