It’s Physiological

702C

La Roche-Posay is a French skin care line that I’ve seen in stores but never tried. The line is carried in the select CVS stores that have beauty advisors, but since beauty advisors intimidate me, whether in department stores or in CVS, I never really explored the line before. So when I received samples of La Roche-Posay’s new Physiological line, I was very happy to make my first foray into the brand, just in time to revamp my skin care routine for spring.

The Physiological Cleansing Gel ($18) (above) is actually a water-soluble lotion cleanser that doesn’t foam, which is perfect for my sensitive skin. Like all of La Roche-Posay’s products, it contains the company’s trademark anti-oxidant thermal spring water, rich in selenium to protect against free radicals. It smells light and fresh but not overpowering. I rather enjoy the fragrance – it’s as rejuvenating as the warmer weather that is finally returning. The cleanser is gentle and soothing, and my skin feels clean and comfortable after I use it.

703C

The Physiological Micellar Solution ($18) is a three-in-one cleanser, toner, and makeup remover. It features micelles, which micro-encapsulate dirt on the skin’s surface and lift it up without rubbing. It also contains La Roche-Posay’s thermal spring water. It removes face makeup well, and does a decent job of removing eye makeup, though I find I do need to cleanse with the Cleansing Gel afterwards to get the last traces off. But on days when I wear makeup and I’m too tired to do a full skin care regimen before bedtime, I just use this. There’s no need to rinse it off, so after I sweep it on my face I can just crawl into bed. It’s the perfect Lazy Girl’s skin care product.

704C

The Physiological Ultra-Fine Scrub ($16) has become my new best friend. It contains micronized diatomic and polyethylene powders to provide physical exfoliation, and something called APF (Activating Protease Factor), a blend of enzymes to boost skin cell turnover. The first time I used it, my skin immediately felt smooth, and looked glowing, as if I could virtually see the layer of new skin it had uncovered. Hours later when I touched my face, it still felt smooth and soft. I was a bit skeptical at first about the press release’s instructions to use it every day, but I’m pleasantly surprised to see that it hasn’t irritated my skin. With continued use I am seeing fewer breakouts and smoother, softer skin.

All Physiological products are pH-balanced and are soap-free, alcohol-free, and paraben-free. In addition to the thermal water, they also contain Poloxamer, a cleansing agent so mild it’s used in contact lens solution, so they won’t irritate your eyes. The line is safe for sensitive skin. La Roche-Posay products are available at select CVS, Duane Reade, and Longs stores, in select physician’s offices, or online at www.laroche-posay.us. So far I’m really loving my new La Roche-Posay regimen. You might have to shop around a little bit to find a La Roche-Posay display, but it will be time well spent.

Disclosure: These products were provided to me by either the manufacturer or an agency or representative of the manufacturer for the purpose of reviewing it. All statements in the review are my own honest opinions.

One Comment on “It’s Physiological”

  1. renaissance costume says:

    Thanks for this product.. đŸ™‚ Great information.. đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

