In Search of the Perfect Nude Lip

Lipglosses

L-R: Chanel’s Glossimer in Giggle, Neutrogena’s Moistureshine Gloss (old formula) in Chic, Neutrogena’s Moistureshine Gloss (new formula) in Pure Cider, and Goldie Lip Gloss in Naked

When it comes to lip color, I don’t like lipstick. It’s too heavy, too obvious, and I feel too made up when I wear it. The only exception is for special events or evenings out. Most of the time, I wear lip gloss. Although I’ll occasionally choose a bolder color, like plum or burgundy, my every day go-to color is nude. I’m always on the hunt for that “natural lips, but better” color that will subtly enhance my appearance without anyone noticing that I’m wearing makeup.

My first “go-to” nude lipgloss was Chanel’s Glossimer lip gloss in Giggle. It’s the perfect nude: a mauve-based pink with neutral undertones. It’s very becoming, but at $27 a tube it’s just too pricey. So I turned to drugstore brands in search of a replacement, and fell in love with Neutrogena’s Moistureshine Gloss in Chic. While not a perfect match for Giggle – it’s more brown-based – it’s a much more affordable version of the nude lip. I received compliments when I wore it. I always thought the name “Chic” was a coy reference to the French glamour of Chanel’s Giggle since the color was similar. But when Neutrogena recently reformulated the Moistureshine Glosses, Chic was discontinued. Quelle domage

Another nude lip gloss that I loved that was discontinued was Goldie’s lip gloss in Naked. The aptly named Naked was more pink than either Giggle or Chic, almost like a candy-colored pink. It had a vanilla flavor that underscored the confectionery sweetness of the color. But the entire Goldie line has disappeared, along with the C.O. Bigelow shops that used to carry it. Why does everything I love go away?

Recently I was in Walgreens and noticed Neutrogena’s newly reformulated line of Moistureshine Gloss ($9.99). One shade in particular stood out as a possible replacement for their discontinued Chic. It’s called Pure Cider, and since Walgreen’s was having a buy one, get one at half price sale, I snapped up the last two tubes, not knowing how the color would look on me. But when I got home and tried it on I was relieved to discover that the color looks good. In the tube I can see tiny opalescent sparkles, but on the lips the gloss doesn’t look sparkly. It’s just a sheer wash of color. It’s a little too sheer compared to the older formula of Moistureshine Gloss, but it looks very pretty and very natural. I think I’ve found my new go-to, “natural lips but better” lip gloss. Here’s hoping it won’t be discontinued.

Swatches

Top to bottom: Chanel’s Glossimer in Giggle, Neutrogena’s Moistureshine Gloss (old formula) in Chic, Neutrogena’s Moistureshine Gloss (new formula) in Pure Cider, and Goldie Lip Gloss in Naked

Leave a Reply

