Pomegranate Power

Nutritious

On a recent trip to the mall, I discovered a line of Estee Lauder skin care I haven’t seen before. The Nutritious line debuted in Asia in 2007. In America, it’s sold exclusively at Nordstrom’s. The Nutritious line uses the power of pomegranate and minerals to renew and energize skin. The products are packaged in sleek red and white bottles, jars, and tubes that look more youthful and modern than the traditional Estee Lauder packaging that to an extent reinforces the misconception that EL products are only for (ahem) older women. But the Nutritious line seems to market itself as a line for young women who want to start a quality skin care regimen. The products aren’t rich enough for mature or extremely dry skin, but they would work well for young, oily, or combination skin types.

The Nutritious Purifying 2-in-1 Foam Cleanser ($18) is a pearlescent cream cleanser. I only need a small dab, mixed with water in the palm of my hand, to create a foamy lather. It’s surprisingly non-drying for a foaming cleanser. The only drawback is that it stings my eyes a little bit, but I’ve used cleansers that sting far worse. My face doesn’t feel tight or dry after I use it, so it’s a keeper. It can also be used as a face mask if applied to dry skin and left on for 5 minutes.

Nutritious2

The Nutritious Vita-Mineral Moisture Gel-Cream ($36) is a silicone-based moisturizer that, as the name suggests, is a gel-cream. I usually don’t like moisturizers with silicones because I don’t like the consistency and I feel they don’t moisturize my skin enough, but I was pleasantly surprised with this. My face feels comfortable, even in winter, and even following the Purifying 2-in-1 Cleanser. Both the cleanser and the moisturizer have a pleasant, fruity fragrance that reinforces the pomegranate theme.

The Nutritious line is easy and pleasant to use. The products are relatively affordable compared to other the Estee Lauder products. It’s worth the extra legwork to go to a Nordstrom’s store to obtain it, or to order it online.



Estee Lauder commercial from Singapore.

Leave a Reply

