Got Tokyomilk?

Yesterday I headed up to Salem to catch the Rare Bird of Fashion: The Irreverent Iris Apfel exhibit at the Peabody Essex Museum before it closes today. I have never enjoyed a costume exhibit more (and I am a costume historian). Yesterday was also the start of Salem So Sweet, an annual event for Valentine’s Day. Various shops throughout Salem hold special events and promotions, all chocolate-related, while promoting Valentine’s Day gifts. While sipping hot chocolate in one charming store I discovered a gem of a fragrance line called Tokyomilk. I have never seen this line before, and since I’m still on the hunt for a signature fragrance, I was immediately captivated by the different eau de parfums on display. I must have spritzed all of them before deciding on the one I purchased. I was torn between Kabuki, a Sugared Grapefruit, Lychee & Sweet Jasmine; Cherry Bomb, a wild Rose, Osmanthus, Chocolate & Vetiver; and Le Petit, a Lily, Peony, Vanilla Bean & Violet Petals. Lately I’ve been getting into retro fragrances because I haven’t liked any of the new fragrances out there, and most of those retro scents have been spicy, woodsy chypres. But there’s something about the fresh combinations of Tokyomilk scents that make them uniquely alluring. I finally settled on Le Petit, but I can’t stop thinking about Cherry Bomb. I think another trip to Salem is in my near future. Tokyomilk perfumes are $28 each. They also make solid perfumes, as well as soaps, candles, stationery, and cosmetics. Tokyomilk is a breath of fresh air in an overcrowded fragrance market.


Here are a couple of photographs from the Iris Apfel exhibit. Her sense of style is eccentric, but spot-on. Her fashion combinations are eclectic, bold, and colorful. Not every woman could pull off the ensembles Iris puts together, but they suit her to a T. In her own words, “You only get one shot (at life), why not make the most of it?” I have resolved to channel my inner Iris and start taking more risks with my own style.

>

The Irreverent Iris Apfel




Photographs courtesy of The Peabody Essex Museum

Leave a Reply

