Following a Thread

This past Sunday I got my eyebrows threaded at the mall. Not at a salon, but at one of those threading kiosks in the middle of the mall. Usually, I walk past those kiosks. They seem dubious to me, and I find the people who work there annoying. I dislike being accosted by a young man or woman holding a bottle of lotion or other beauty product and asking me "Can I ask you a question?" But I've always been fascinated by the threading kiosk. And on this particular day, it seemed that every time I walked past it, there was someone in the chair getting her eyebrows threaded. I started thinking about my own eyebrows. They look pretty good, but they need a little cleaning up. But still I was hesitant. So I went to the mall's espresso bar and had an iced tea while I mulled it over. When I decided to go for it, I realized I was low on cash. So I hurried to the ATM, a woman on a mission. And with my luck, by the time I reached the kiosk, the lady who threaded eyebrows was nowhere to be seen. Perhaps she went to the ladies' room, I thought. No matter, it gave me time to watch the threading demonstration on video without feeling pressured (and also, time to flee if I changed my mind). By the time the proprietress returned, I was confident in my decision to go for it. And I'm so glad I did.

Threading hair reminds me of playing cat's cradle. The threads used to remove the hair are manipulated much like that timeless childhood pastime. It took five minutes, and afterwards my brows looked great. Sure, it was painful, but not as painful as waxing. Now that I've had it done, I would definitely get it done on a regular basis to maintain my brows and to keep them neat.

This video explains the threading process. If you, like me, have always been skeptical of the threading kiosk, why not give it a try the next time you're at the mall? Once you try it, you might just realize you can't live without it.

Leave a Reply

