Bring Back the Lash

undefined

Although I'm trying to forsake department-store beauty products in favor of drugstore brands, one item I've always preferred from drugstores is mascara. So when my favorite drugstore-brand mascara was discontinued (it was Max Factor 2000 Calorie Mascara), I was at a loss. I tried other brands, but they didn't compare. For one thing, the 2000 Calorie Mascara didn't flake. And it came in brown. Not brownish-black, or blackish-brown, just brown, which was perfect if I wanted my lashes to be darker but still look natural. After all, not all of us want dark and dramatic lashes. But nowadays, I hardly ever see mascaras that aren't a mix of brown and black. And the other drugstore-brand mascaras that I've tried since 2000 Calorie Mascara have been very disappointing. But I think I've finally found the holy grail of mascaras.

Flirt's Lash-a-delic mascara lured me in with its bright pink box. But what sold me on it was that it came in Boogie Brown, a basic brown shade (it also comes in Mod Black and Groovy Blue). I wore it for the first time today and I was impressed. It passed the 8-Hour-Work-Day test:  if it hasn't smudged or flaked by the end of the day, then it passes. I wore it all day, and it was a cold and rainy one. On days like this my eyes water more than usual, but Lash-a-delic didn't smudge. It also didn't flake. When I got home from work, my lashes looked just as great as they did when I left the house this morning. Lash-a-delic is definitely a keeper.

At $14.00, Lash-a-delic is the perfect compromise between drugstore and department store brands. It's available exclusively at Kohl's department stores, or online at www.flirtcosmetics.com.

Starting with this review, I'm instituting a new ratings system. I'll rate products from one to five Boston "B's," with one being the lowest and five being the highest. So my BBB Rating (that's Boston Beauty Blog, not Better Business Bureau) for Lash-a-delic mascara is:

 .

 

Leave a Reply

