Bliss for Less

The Soap & Glory line of bath and body products was born in 2007. Its creator, Marcia Kilgore, is best known as the creator of Bliss Spa and its immense product line that has conquered both America and Great Britain. Soap and Glory is her budget-conscious alternative to Bliss. With its retro-inspired packaging, including bright pink tubes and jars, vintage photos, and clever, pun-inspired names, it seems more of a Benefit knock-off than Bliss. But the line's collection of scrubs, butters, lotions, and hand, feet, and hair products places the same emphasis on spa-style pampering that Bliss does. Once again I found myself trolling the beauty aisles of Target in an effort to find some new beauty bargains. I had never tried Soap & Glory products before, and the cheeky S&G display (you can't miss it) lured me in that day. I purchased two scrubs, one for the face, and one for the body.

Flake Away ($9.99) is a body polish with shea butter to moisturize and sugar and peach seed powder to exfoliate. The shea butter-and-petrolatum-based scrub is richer than many sugar polishes, so it's easier to apply. However, the drawback to this is that the base seems to hold on to the scrub and keep it on my body, making it harder to rinse off.  Since sugar melts upon contact with water, I can only assume that it was the peach seed powder that remained on my skin. I had to use a washcloth to remove it, and even after stepping out of the bath, grit still remained. The first time I used it was in the bath rather than the shower, so the seeds floated in the water and were deposited back on my skin. But I haven't had trouble removing other scrubs in the bath. That being said, the next time I used it was in the shower, and that was when I realized that this product rocks! Flake Away did a nice job of exfoliating my skin, especially my legs (I used it before applying Veet hair remover), and it left my skin feeling soft. It rinses off much more easily in the shower, and I don't have to follow it with a separate body moisturizer. I would definitely repurchase it.

Scrub Your Nose In It ($12.99) is a dual-action face scrub and mask that claims to help refine large pores and prevent blemishes. It contains diatomaceous earth, which is basically sedimentary rock consisting of fossilized diatoms (hard-shelled algae) that has been grounded to a powder similar to pumice (thank you, Wikipedia). Thus, it's a mild abrasive that gently exfoliates. It is also extremely absorbent, so much so that the U.S. Center for Disease Control uses it to clean up toxic liquid spills, so it should make short work of the oil slick that has taken over my T-zone. Scrub Your Nose In It combines this diatomaceous earth with Kaolin clay to further combat large pores and blemishes, along with the exfoliating benefits of fruit acids such as sugar cane, willow bark, lemon, orange, and sugar maple extracts. It can be used as a scrub, but it can also be used as a mask if left on the face for three to four minutes. This products feels slightly cool and tingly when I use it,  and my face feels refreshed and smooth afterwards. While I can't say my pores look less visible, perhaps with long-term use I'll see a difference. But  I do like it as an additional oil- and acne-fighting product to add to my skin care regimen.


If you're expecting Bliss quality at a fraction of the price, you may be a tad disappointed with Soap & Glory. However, for the money, Soap & Glory products are effective, and are a breath of fresh air from the usual drugstore-variety bath and body products. Soap & Glory is available exclusively at Target, or online at www.soapandglory.com.

 

Leave a Reply

