Down with Hollywood Hair!

I've always been a fan of Dove products. Seeing that white beauty bar featuring one-quarter moisturizing cream takes me back to my childhood, when my mother used it. Dove's beauty bar is the only drugstore-brand bar cleanser that my skin can tolerate. But Dove has come a long way (baby) since I was a child (and I'm not telling you how long ago that was). Their line has expanded to include facial cleansers, moisturizers, deodorants, body care products, and haircare products. In addition to the beauty bar, I also use their facial moisturizers, deodorants, and liquid hand soap. But I had never tried their hair care products, so when Dove sent me samples of their new shampoo and conditioner to review, I was more than happy to try them.

Dove has reformulated their haircare line to cleanse your hair without stripping it of its much-needed natural oils. They recently introduced Dove Cool Moisture (TM) shampoo and conditioner with a touch of cucumber and green tea fragrance. They feature Dove's Weightless Moisturizers (R), which the company describes as "a unique combination of low-molecular weight ingredients" to help condition hair.

I'm just as impressed with Dove's haircare products as I am with their skincare and body products. The shampoo and conditioner are rich and creamy, and left my hair just as clean, soft, and healthy-looking as more expensive haircare products I've tried. And I love how effective yet affordable Dove products are. Dove Cool Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner each retails for about $4.00, and can be found in drugstores nationwide. I'm so finished with being talked into buying expensive shampoos and conditioners from my salon every time I get my hair done. I'm sticking with Dove.

As much as I love Dove's products, what I love most about them is the risk they take in departing from the usual beauty industry advertising standards. Dove's innovative Campaign for Real Beauty (you've all seen the commercials) celebrates women of all shapes, sizes, ethnicities, and ages, and encourages women to reject the unachievable standards of beauty that most of the beauty industry perpetuates and instead embrace their natural beauty.

Right now you can go to doveloveyourhair.com to check out their video exposing the "secrets" behind the seemingly effortless Hollywood Hair, as well as one Hollywood star's backlash against Hollywood Hair. "Heroes" star Ali Larter took up the gauntlet and challenged Hollywood Hair by going real on the Red Carpet, using nothing but Dove haircare products, and styling her own hair, for the Emmy Awards. And while you're there, enter Dove's Love Your Hair Ad Contest. Create your own Dove hair care ad and enter for a chance to win a trip to New York City and be featured in a Dove commercial. When it comes to haircare, if Ali Larter can keep it real, we all can.

Leave a Reply

