Don’t Waste Your Money

I don't know whether it's due to stress or to the synthetic ingredients in the skincare line that I was previously using, but lately my face has been erupting worse than Mount Vesuvius. I've always been prone to acne, but in the past few months my face has looked worse than it did when I was a teenager. So out of desperation, not wanting to do the Accutane thing (for a third time) and finding over-the-counter remedies barely effective, I shelled out $150 for the latest anti-acne "miracle": the Zeno Acne Clearing Device. This high-tech zit zapper uses a two-minute burst of heat, applied directly to the pimple, to kill bacteria. The manufacturer claims that Zeno can completely eliminate pimples, many within the first 24-48 hours, when this device is used. However, there are limitations as to what the Zeno can do, and unfortunately, you won't learn what those limitations are until you pay the big bucks for the device, open the shrink-wrapped box, and read the user's guide contained within.

I bought my Zeno with a face full of pimples and high hopes that this small device resembling a cigarette lighter would zap them away overnight. Sure, it sounds too good to be true, but the seal on the box proclaiming this product as being an Allure Magazine Editor's Choice for Breakthrough Product convinced me. After all, if Allure Magazine says it works, then why shouldn't I believe them? But when I read the user's guide, I learned that Zeno isn't effective on all kinds of pimples. In fact, it states that it's really only effective on pimples that are just starting – when you notice those small bumps on your face that may or may not turn into a pimple. It wasn't effective on my full-blown pimples, and even when I tried it on spots that I thought were going to become pimples, it didn't eradicate them. In short, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

I bought the original Zeno. It used to retail for about $200 and was sold in high-end salons and spas like Bliss Spa, until the manufacturer released the second generation Zeno Pro. Now the original Zeno is $150, and you can buy it at less-than-exclusive major drugstore chains such as Walgreens and Target. Now there is a third-generation Zeno MD. It's just like with iPods: when the first version can be improved upon, introduce another one and reduce the price of the one before it.

I don't know if the newer Zenos are more effective than the original one, but my experience with Zeno has convinced me never to spend a lot of money on something that makes claims that seem too good to be true. Zeno offers a 30-day money back guarantee if not completely satisfied. Needless to say I've already taken advantage of it. If anyone else has used Zeno, I'd love to hear what you have to say about it, positive or negative.

Leave a Reply

