Hello Pretty-Expensive

If you're like me, but afraid to admit it (also like me), you're old enough to remember Hello Kitty when she was just for little kids, and you were among her first generation of fans. But beyond elementary school, you would have been considered too old to like Hello Kitty. Back in the day, if I had brought a Hello Kitty notebook or pen with plastic Hello Kitty dangly charm to class when I was in junior high, I would have been teased worse than the kid in the Star Wars t-shirt and floods. Heck, even he would have made fun of me. But now that Hello Kitty has reached such iconic status, it's cool for women of all ages to love her. Take Kimora Lee Simmons, for example. The model, cosmetics mogul, and fashion designer for Baby Phat has her own line of gem-encrusted Hello Kitty jewelry. This pave diamond pendant (above, below left) is available at Nieman Marcus online, and retails for $4,250. Too rich for your blood? Mine too! That's why I have Avon's version (below, right) for the low, low price of only $9.95.

I know what you're thinking. Sure, the Avon version doesn't even come close to the Kimora Lee Simmons version, but with the money I've saved, I could put a down payment on a car or take a vacation to Europe. Remember, cute doesn't have to cost a lot.

Leave a Reply

