Tea Zone

We've all heard the old adage about drinking eight glasses of water a day to help your skin look its best. But what about drinking tea to help your skin? That's the idea behind the Get Gorgeous Herb Tea for Clear Skin from The Republic of Tea. Get Gorgeous is a red tea made with the South African rooibos herb. Rooibos is an anti-oxidant, and the company claims that drinking three to four cups of the tea a day will help improve the appearance of your skin by fighting free radicals, which break down skin cells and lead to aging. This caffeine-free, herbal blend also includes chamomile, orange peel, hibiscus, red clover, chaste berry, and burdock root.

I've been battling a nasty cold and sore throat for the past few days, so I figured I'd kill two birds with one stone and try to improve my skin while I improve my health. I've been drinking several cups of Get Gorgeous tea every day and I've gone through an entire container of the stuff. Do I see visible results in the appearance of my skin? Frankly, no. Granted, it tastes good — kind of fruity — but I think it's better for clearing the mind, like any good cup of tea will do, than for clearing the skin. And at $10 for 36 bags of tea, it's a bit steep (no pun intended). I'll just stick with my Twinings Indian Spiced Chai Tea, $3.49 at Shaw's Supermarket, thanks. The Get Gorgeous Tea is one of nine teas in the Republic of Tea's Red Tea line. All are equally pro-active, with similarly witty names (puns intended), including Get It Going Herb Tea for Regularity, Get Some ZZZs Herb Tea for Rest, and Get Lost Herb Teas for Weight.

Leave a Reply

