Sweet Dreams Are Made of This

I had the strangest dream last night. I dreamt that I was on my lunch break from a temp job. I had to go to the bank, and afterwards I was walking down Newbury Street, only it didn't look like Newbury Street, the way sometimes places, or people, don't look like what or who they are supposed to be in dreams, but you know it's supposed to be that place or person anyway. While I was on Newbury Street, Stacy London of t.v.'s "What Not To Wear" approached me. She told me WNTW had finally gotten around to me, two years after I nominated myself for the show when they came to the Boston area as part of their nation-wide mall audition tour (I actually did nominate myself when they came to Boston). Only I wasn't selected for the $5000, week in New York shopping spree. They selected me for a one-day mini-makeover to make me resemble a celebrity. Now I know WNTW doesn't do celebrity-inspired mini-makeovers, but the Style Networks's "Style Her Famous" does. It's sad when reality television makeover shows merge together in my dreams. Maybe I've been spending too much time on this beauty blog. Or maybe it was the cheese quesadilla I had for dinner last night.

When Stacy London and I got to the salon where my makeover would take place, Stacy and the stylist asked me what celebrity I'd like to resemble. "Jennifer Aniston," I thought to myself, but I asked Stacy what she would suggest, in case she had a better idea of which celebrity style would suit me. To my surprise she replied "Jennifer Aniston." "I was thinking Jennifer Aniston!" I exclaimed. Then she and the stylist explained that my Jennifer Aniston hairstyle would be very high-maintenance, with the cut, color, flat ironing, etc., and asked if I would be okay with that. I started to tell them that my hair was very important to me and if they did something too drastic I wouldn't be happy, but then I stopped myself. I was afraid that they would choose someone else if I wasn't on board with the makeover, and I didn't want to sacrifice the free designer outfit I would also receive as part of the makeover. But before the makeover could begin, I had to call my temp job and tell them I wasn't coming back to the office that day because I was selected for a reality t.v. makeover. And here's where the problems began.

I had to leave the salon to find a payphone. And for some reason, I just wasn't able to make the call. First, I didn't know the office's phone number off-hand, and I had to dig in my pockets to find the scrap of paper with the phone number on it. Then the phone wouldn't take my quarter, I couldn't read my own handwriting to read the phone number on the piece of paper, then I couldn't dial the number right, and then, inexplicably, there were suddenly twenty people waiting in line behind me to use the phone, which rattled me even more. After several false starts, I finally called the office to tell them I wasn't coming in.

I never did find out how I looked after my makeover. I woke up as soon as I hung up the pay phone. But I think I know why I had that dream. I do really like Jennifer Aniston's style, and if I was really chosen for a celebrity-inspired makeover, I would probably choose her. After all, she does have great hair. And I recently saw an ad on another blog for Sudzz FX Cashmere Shampoo, with a picture of Ms. Aniston returning from her salon with a shopping bag containing this product. So now I am seriously contemplating paying $41 for an 8-ounce bottle of shampoo. That's how easily prone to suggestion I am, that my dreams could lead to an expensive impulse purchase. SudzzFX haircare products are available at Hairflix.

Leave a Reply

