Hard Candy Christmas

Right before Christmas, I decided to give myself a haircut. Not a full haircut, mind you–I wouldn't be that bold. But I thought I'd change my look a little by cutting my usually eyebrow-skimming bangs very short, a la Bettie Page. As soon as I made that first snip, however, I knew I made a dreadful mistake. Half my bangs were now extremely short and the other half were long, So I had no choice but to continue cutting them. Now anyone who has ever had really short, retro bangs knows that it's a struggle to get them to lie flat. You either have to use a lot of hair product, or else hold them down overnight while you sleep with those little roller clips or that pink tape that my mom used to use in the Sixties when she set her hair. Having just butchered my bangs, I should have stopped there. But I didn't. I decided that since my bangs were now so short, exposing my eyebrows to the world, I thought I'd give my brows a dramatic reshaping. When will I learn?

Usually I have no problem waxing my brows. I use Aussie Nads hair removal (no jokes about the name, please), which is useless on my legs, but makes an awesome eyebrow wax. But I tried to overarch my brows this time, to match the retro look of my bangs. The end result was that my right eyebrow would have been two separate halves save for one thin hair connecting them together. CRISIS! In two fell swoops I'd managed to make myself look worse, not better. In the words of Seinfeld's Kramer, "I'm hideous!" And I was going home to my mom's house in Connecticut in two days for Christmas! Major damage control was needed.

The next day, I went to the Sephora at the Prudential Center to look for an eyebrow product. I opted for the Hard Candy Training Brow eyebrow pencil. This product is brilliant. One end is an eyebrow pencil, the other a clear gel to groom the brows. It comes in two shades: Dark-Haired Girl, and Light-Haired Girl. The Dark-Haired Girl works well for very dark brown hair, but would be too light for black hair. I chose the Light-Haired Girl, which, although intended for lighter brunettes, actually matches my brows very closely, and I'm a redhead. All for the low, low price of $10.

You can find Training Brow and other fine Hard Candy products at www.hardcandy.com. Aussie Nads is available at Drugstore.com. And in case you were wondering, I opted to flatten my bangs with those little roller clips, borrowed from, who else but Mom, when I went home for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

